Day 2 – Winter DH

Good morning, world!

Day 2 of the DH, and my thoughts are a little clearer than they were yesterday.  After I left here last night, I went to my lab office and printed out the Dissertation Template Instructions, as well as my dissertation outline and the detailed chapter outlines… and went directly to my advisor.  I spoke with her about which papers I would be writing, which are being written currently, and what I should be focusing on.  And I am so glad that I did.

I found out that I didn’t need to write the first paper; it’s already being written by the postdoc, but I can use everything in it for my dissertation and it would not be considered plagiarism (yay!).  Additionally, she told me what papers I would be writing, and which ones I would be working with other people with.

SO, now that I spoke with her, I feel much clearer.  I’ve also determined to write the dissertation first, then cut and paste into a journal format (as per my mentor’s suggestion).

OK, so, now on to the goals for today.  They will be:

  1. Figure out TOC on the template.
  2. Look over information for Chapter 5 (the Postdoc’s project).
  3. Email undergrad with to do list for the day (which corresponds to Chapter 3).
  4. Figure out plan for Chapter 4’s experiments and email 2nd undergrad.
  5. Slowly reorganize Chapter 1 info in document.

Sounds like a lot, but it’s actually a lot of small tasks as well.

Here. We. Go.

Quote for the Day:  “Work smarter, not harder.” -Ron Carswell

 

Margaret

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Goals

2 responses to “Day 2 – Winter DH

  1. Margaret Dabek

    Glad to hear things worked out…:)
    YOU GOT THIS!

  2. Magaret

    Where is your latest posts? What is your status.

Leave a comment